Events on 14 April 2021

World Quantum Day


From Einstein to Wheeler: Wave-Particle duality of a single photon

Alain Aspect (Institut d’Optique Graduate School, Université Paris-Saclay)

** World Quantum Day Launch Event **

Language: English

Audience: General public

Date: Wednesday 14 April 2021

Time: 17:00 Central European Time (15:00 UTC)

Venue: Online, recording available in the World Quantum Day YouTube Channel

Abstract: Wave-particle duality is a basic concept of quantum physics, first stated by Einstein about light, and developed about material particles by Louis de Broglie. When applied to a single particle, it allows us to illustrate one of the weirdest properties of the quantum world. I will present wave-particle duality based on using a real experiment, based on a single photon source, one of the key devices in the development of quantum technologies.

Biography: Alain Aspect is an alumnus of Ecole Normale Supérieure de Cachan (now ENS Paris-Saclay) and Université d’Orsay (now Université Paris-Saclay). An emeritus distinguished scientist at CNRS, he is a professor at Institut d’Optique Graduate School (Université Paris-Saclay), and at Ecole Polytechnique, and author of textbooks and MOOCS on quantum optics.

He is a member of several science academies (France, USA, UK, Austria, Belgium, Italy)  and has received many prestigious international prizes.

Alain Aspect research has been devoted to experimental studies of quantum properties of light and ultra-cold atoms, at the root of quantum technologies. More details here.

Organiser: World Quantum Day Network and Coordination Team




Quantum Mechanics in Malta

A series of short talks about why you should care about h.

Language: English

Audience: General public

Date: Wednesday 14 April 2021

Time: 10:00 Central European Time (8:00 UTC)

Venue: Online, recording available here

Programme: The Department of Physics of the University of Malta takes part in the World Quantum Day 2021 celebrations with short talks by its researchers on their cutting-edge research and why Planck’s constant h is important for you.

10:00 – André Xuereb (Head of the Department of Physics): Fun and adventures in a quantum world

10:10 – Tony Apollaro (Senior Lecturer): An identikit of Planck’s constant h

10:20 – Karl Pelka (PhD student): What light quanta know about numbers

10:30 – Mirko Consiglio (PhD student): The Road to Quantum Supremacy

10:40 – Jake Xereb (B.Sc. student):  Quantum Pastizzi – Quantum Computing with Maltese treats

10:50-11:00 – Q&A session.

Organizer: University of Malta




From Quantum Physics to Quantum Computing: The Ongoing Second Quantum Revolution
Από την Κβαντική Φυσική στους Κβαντικούς Υπολογιστές: Η Εξελισσόμενη  Δεύτερη Κβαντική Επανάσταση 

Dimitris Angelakis (School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Technical University of Crete)

Language: Greek / Ελληνικά

Audience: General public

Date: Wednesday 14 April 2021 / Τετάρτη 14 Απριλίου 2021

Time: 14:00 Athens time / 13:00 Central European Time (11:00 UTC)

Venue: Online

Organizer: Technical University of Crete / Πολυτεχνείο Κρήτης, Greece

More details: Event web page




Quantum Reality and Realisations

Tyndall National Institute, Ireland

Language: English

Audience: General public

Date: Wednesday 14 April 2021

Time: 18:00 Ireland / 19:00 Central European Time (17:00 UTC)

Venue: Online, recording available here

Programme: The presentation consists of a series of short introductory talks followed by a panel Q&A discussion. The topics covered are:

– Brief introduction to World Quantum Day and Tyndall National Institute (Giorgos Fagas)

– What is quantum science? (Emanuele Pelucchi)

– What is enabled by quantum science? What might quantum engineering do for us? (Felipe Murphy-Armando)

– Quantum computer engineering from Tyndall’s perspective (Giorgos Fagas)

– A visit to the Lab – deep dive in a quantum mechanics experiment (Gediminas Juska)

– Panel Q&A moderated by Alida Zauers

Organizer: Tyndall National Institute, Ireland





From Quantum Physics to Quantum Information

Yasser Omar (IT & IST, University of Lisbon)

Language: English

Audience: Scientists and science students

Date: Wednesday 14 April 2021

Time: 14:00 Uzbekistan Time (9:00 UTC)

Venue: Online

Abstract: In this colloquium, I will introduce quantum physics for non-experts, and discuss how the fundamental aspects of quantum theory lead to a new type of information, offering us faster computations, as well as the most secure communications and the most precise measurements currently allowed by the laws of physics.

Organizer: Physical Society of Uzbekistan

More details: Event web page




Tackling Particle Tracking with Quantum Computation

Yasser Omar (IT & IST, University of Lisbon)

Language: English

Audience: Physicists and physics students

Date: Wednesday 14 April 2021

Time: 14:00 Central African Time / 13:00 Western Africa Time (12:00 UTC)

Venue: Online, recording available here

Abstract: To investigate the fundamental nature of matter and its interactions, particles are accelerated to very high energies and collided, producing a multitude of other particles. Identifying these collision products, as well as their energy and momentum, allows us to unveil the production mechanism of hadronic particles, to test with better precision the Standard Model of particle physics, and to possibly discover new particles associated with physics beyond the Standard model.

This represents an increasingly challenging data analysis problem, namely as the centre of mass energy and the rate of the collisions –  and thus the number of produced particles – increase. This is already very challenging presently at the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) at CERN, currently setting the experimental high-energy frontier, and will become even more dramatic in its future upgrade, the High-Luminosity LHC, where the rate of collisions will increase by an order of magnitude.

To identify the particles created in these collisions and scattered in all directions, one needs to reconstruct their trajectories. As the charged particles cross the different layers of the detector, they leave a discrete trace of their passage, a set of points in three-dimensional space called hits. Tracking is the process of identifying the actual trajectories from this set of hits, which is considered a very demanding task from the computational point of view, and which could be amenable to acceleration by quantum computation in the future.

In this talk, we will analyse the computational complexity of the Combinatorial Track Finder algorithm [1] used in the Compact Muon Solenoid (CMS) detector at LHC, and discuss the potential of quantum computational speedup for tracking. Furthermore, we will present a quantum algorithm that executes the same task with lower computational complexity.

Work developed in collaboration with Andris Ambainis, Pedrame Bargassa, Maksims Dimitrijevs, Adam Glos, Mārtiņš Kālis, Akshat Kumar, Andris Locāns, Duarte Magano, Sagar Pratapsi, Gonçalo Quinta, Aleksandrs Rivošs, João Seixas.

[1] The CMS Collaboration, Description and performance of track and primary-vertex reconstruction with the CMS tracker, Journal of Instrumentation 9, 10009 (2014).

Organizer: National Institute for Theoretical Physics & University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa, and the University of Tunis El Manar, Tunisia

More details: Event poster



The Schroedinger Equation & its implications

Girish Beeharry (University of Mauritius)

Language: English

Audience: Scientists and science students

Date: Wednesday 14 April 2021

Time: 17h30 Mauritius (13:30 UTC)

Venue: Online

Organizer: University of Mauritius




Quantum Software Development Platforms

Mark Jackson (Cambridge Quantum Computing)

Language: English

Audience: Scientists and science students

Moderated by Janos Asboth and Zoltan Zimboras (QHungary/QWorld) 

Date: Wednesday 14 April 2021

Time: 16:00 Central European Time  (14:00 UTC)

Venue: Online, recording available here

Organizer: QWorld, QHungary

More details: Event web page




Quantum Information

Charles H. Bennett (IBM fellow at IBM Research, New York)

Language: English

Audience: Scientists and science students

Date: Wednesday 14 April 2021

Time: 21:30 Indian Standard Time (16:00 UTC)

Venue: Online

Abstract: The information revolution is based on what a physicist would call a classical view of information. Quantum effects were long regarded as a mere nuisance for information processing, preventing information in microscopic objects from being observed or copied accurately, but are now known to make possible feats like quantum cryptography and, if a quantum computer can be built, dramatic speedups of some computations. More importantly, the quantum approach has led to a more coherent and powerful way of thinking about information. We review this approach, especially the uniquely strong and private kind of correlation known as entanglement, which plays a role in many ways complementary to classical information. Entanglement helps explain the origin of randomness, why the future is more uncertain than the past, and, paradoxically, the macroscopic world’s superficially classical appearance, which allowed quantum laws to remain undiscovered until the 20th century. In the 21st century quantum information notions are yielding insights into black hole physics and the origin of spacetime.

Organizer: Raman Research Institute, India

More details: Event poster





Quantum physics at ETH Zurich: our journey

Experiment and Theory with ETH Zurich Professors Yiwen Chu and Renato Renner

Language: English

Audience: General public, students

Date: Wednesday 14 April 2021

Time: 12:00 Central European Time (10:00 UTC)

Venue: Online, recording available here

Abstract: What do quantum physicists do in the land of chocolate and watches? The ETH Quantum Center (qc.ethz.ch) in Zurich, Switzerland invites you to an interview with two ETH professors: Yiwen Chu and Renato Renner, moderated by Ph.D. student Chiara Decaroli. They will share their story, tell us about the typical day of a quantum scientist and give advice to young students about careers in the field. Join us in celebrating Quantum Physics worldwide!

Organizer: ETH Zurich, Switzerland

More details: Event web page




Quantum Computing in a Nutshell
Scurta Introducere in Calculul Cuantic

Language: Romanian / Română

Audience: General public / Audienţă Generală

Date: Wednesday 14 April 2021 / Miercuri 14 Aprile 2021

Time: 18:00 Central European Time / 19:00  Eastern European Time (16:00 UTC)

Venue: Online

Programme: The program will consist in a series of short talks on quantum computing followed by a Q&A session. / Vom organiza o sesiune de prezentări in domeniul calculului cuantic, urmată de o sesiune de intrebări si răspunsuri.

Host / Moderator Dr. Luiza Buimaga-Iarinca

Talks/Prezentări:

Laurenţiu Niţa (Durham University, UK, Fondator al Quarks Interactive): Quantum Odyssey: calcul cuantic pe înțelesul tuturor

Dr. Alexandru Paler (Universitatea Transilvania din Brasov, România): Super-puteri cuantice 

Dr. Liviu Zarbo (Institutul Naţional de Cercetare Dezvoltare pentru Tehnologii Izotopice şi Moleculare din Cluj-Napoca, România): A doua revoluție cuantică: de la principii la hardware cuantic

Dr. Lucian Sasu (Universitatea Transilvania din Brașov, România): Machine Learning cu și pentru Quantum Computing

Andrei Voicu Tomut (Transilvania Quantum, student UBB Cluj-Napoca, România): Cum înveţi singur să scrii un algoritm cuantic?

Organizer: INCDTIM Cluj-Napoca, Romania




Panel discussion “Quantum: From Fundamentals to Technology”
Kuantum: Temellerden Teknolojiye

Zafer Gedik (Sabanci University) and Onur Pusuluk (Koc University)

Language: Turkish / Türkçe

Audience: General public / Genel izleyici

Date: Wednesday 14 April 2021 / 14 Nisan 2021, Çarşamba

Time: 19:30 Central European Time / 20:30 Türkiye Saati (17:30 UTC)

Venue: Online, recording available here

Organizer: QTurkey

More details: Event poster




Debate about Quantum Physics
Debate sobre Física Quântica

Marcelo Cunha (UNICAMP), Marcelo Santos (INCT-IQ e UFRJ),
Yasser Omar (IT & IST, University of Lisbon), Lídia Del Rio (ETH Zurich)

Language: Portuguese / Português

Audience: General public / Público em geral

Date: Wednesday 14 April 2021 / Quarta-feira 14 de Abril de 2021

Time: 20:00 Lisboa / 21:00 CET / 16:00 Brasília (19:00 UTC)

Venue: Online, recording available here

Organizer: INCT-IQ, Brazil

More details: Event poster




Quantum Century: A Conversation with Carlo Rovelli and Kieran Fitzgerald

Language: English

Audience: General public

Date: Wednesday 14 April 2021

Time: 13:00 Pacific Daylight Time / 16:00 Eastern Daylight Time (20:00 UTC)

Venue: Online

Abstract: In celebration of World Quantum Day, The Exchange and The Quantum Century Project bring you a conversation between two leaders in their field, quantum physicist Carlo Rovelli and screenwriter Kieran Fitzgerald. Join us for an accessible and user-friendly tour of quantum mechanics (the underlying rules of the physical universe), the weirdness of nature, and possibly even the inner workings of time itself.

Organizer: The Science & Entertainment Exchange, USA